CHAIR-ity Run's Blog

26.2…..I never thought it was possible

Posted on: January 13, 2011

Get a cup of coffee and get comfortable.  This event was too mind blowing to not try and capture as many details as possible!

After 24 hours of antibiotics and steroids, we boarded a plane for sunny Orlando and the magic of Disney World where surely, all things will be better!  We arrived at our hotel and got settled then headed out to meet Whitney and Brett (our friends from Columbia who were also running the marathon).  During dinner that night, the cough really set in with avengance.  Everytime I began to talk, I coughed.  All night long, I coughed.  When I laid down to sleep, I coughed.  Nothing I did helped.  After a sleepless night, we headed to Animal Kingdom to spend the day Saturday.  On our way to the park, a gentleman on the bus had just run the 1/2 marathon.  He advised me to get a disposable camera to hold while I ran cause there would be many great picture opportunities.   Saturday I felt a little better, was coughing a little less, but still had little energy.  After a pasta dinner, I turned in early Saturday night as I had to catch the shuttle at 3:30am the next morning to get to the start line.  Not much sleep Saturday night between coughing and that feeling of “is the alarm about to go off”!  Up at 2:45am to get dressed, lace up my shoes, pin on my number, and head to the shuttle.  As we drove to the start line, we passed the “21 Mile Marker” on the side of the road.  Everything became very real to me at that point!!  I couldn’t believe I was about to run 26.2 miles!  I had been watching the weather and was expecting upper 60’s low 70’s on race day.  I was NOT expecting upper 40’s at start time!  I was freezing!  As you will see in the pictures, I was dressed for 70’s, not 40’s!.  We found some of those shinny silver wraps you often see runners hold around themselves when they finish a race to keep them warm.  That was my saving grace!!  As we made our way to the start corral’s, I was feeling more and more nausiated.  I remember standing in my corral and having to sit down because I thought I may either pass out or puke.  I kept thinking “why am I doing this?”

As the PA announcer began to give out the final race instructions and count down for the start, I heard him say “the wheelchair start will begin in 5 minutes”.  That one sentence made everything ok.  I remembered in that moment exactly why I was doing this.  As the fireworks lit the sky and the race began, the nausia began to fade and I was actually feeling pretty good.

I intenionally set into a slower jog pace, not knowing how my body (especially my lungs) would hold out considering the events of the week.  I ran the first 3 miles with that “silver piece of tin foil” wrapped tightly around me.  I finally got up the courage to throw it off to the side around the 3.5 mile mark!!  Since this race started at 5:35am, the first hour and a half was in the dark.  No sunshine heating us up for a while!  I wanted to get to mile 6 before taking my first walk break if possible.  I was feeling good!  I got to mile 6 and decided to keep on going.  I walked through the water stations in order to drink a swig of powerade and then set back into my pace.  As I got to mile 10, I remember thinking “can I make it to 13 before I take a walk break?”  YES I CAN!  I have completed several 1/2 marathons but have never completed one without taking my usual walk breaks.  And here I was, 13 miles into a marathon and my legs and lungs were holding up so well that I had not yet had my usual “walk break”.  All throughout the course, there were characters on the side of the course set up for photo shoots.  Many people would jump off the course and get in line to have their picture made with Mickey or Snow White.  As much as I wanted the pictures, I couldn’t bring myself to stop my “rythem” that long and stand in line.  After the half way mark, the “pack’ had somewhat thinned out a little and the lines for the photos were not as heavy.  I was able to jump off the course a couple of times and get a quick picture with a few characters who had noone waiting!  John Philip had to tell me who I had my picture made with once he looked at the photos cause I didn’t know!  Not only were we distracted by characters, the course wound it’s way through all 3 Disney parks.  We started in Epcot, made our way to Magic Kindgom, on to Animal Kindgom and Hollywood Studios before ending back outside of Epcot.  The Disney staff at each park was out in full force cheering us on, waving big Mickey mouse hands, and giving us high fives!  Outside of the parks, there were DJ’s, marching bands, and various animations along the course which also helped to distract your mind from the fact that you had been running….for hours.

When I approached the 20 mile mark, the voice inside my head was screaming “JUST 6 MORE….one foot in front of the other….just keep going”!  At this point, during the walk through the water station, I looked down at my phone to see motivational text messages from John Philip and Chesney.  Encouraging words at just the right time!!  From that point on, things became a bit surreal.  I couldn’t believe I was in Disney World running a marathon.  I couldn’t believe I was 20 miles into it and felt relatively well.  I couldn’t believe I only had 6.2 miles to go and I would see John Philip at the finish line.  It was such a great feeling.  As we entered the final park, many tourist had lined the race route to cheer on the runners.  As we ran though Hollywood Studios, spectators were on the sidelines holding out bags of Twizzlers and Pretzels for us to “grab a handful” and keep running!  The last official food stop on the course was handing our Hershey Miniatures!  Where else can you be running and have candy, especially chocolate, handed to you by the fist fulls??!!  Around the boardwalk and headed toward the last mile, I had a slight feeling of sadness that it was all coming to a close.  Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t want to keep running, but i didn’t want the excitement to end!  I had John Philip on the phone as I approached the 26 mile marker and man, was it good to hear his voice!  He told me he was sitting right to the left of the finish line and he would be waiting on me.  I jumped off the course to get my picture in front of the mile marker sign, then back on course with one last person in mind.  I needed my running angel.  I had Chesney on speaker phone in my hand as I ran the last  .2 miles.  As I turned the last corner toward the finish line, there stood the Hallelujah Chorus adorned in their gold robes belting it out at the top of their lungs!  What a fabulous way to end such a  journey!  As I passed the chorus, I could hear Chesney screaming “you got this, you can do it, you are almost there!”.  I saw John Philip right where he said he would be, smile on his face, yelling for me, with camera in hand.  I threw up my hand and waved at him and a few steps later, with Chesney still on speaker phone, I crossed the finish line!  ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!  I just kept screaming “Oh my……..(well I may not need to type what I was screaming at that point)!!!!!!!  They put the medal around my neck, I went through the final picture spot, grabbed a banana and muffin, and then was off to find my hero.  Words can’t describe the feeling I had at this point.  I had just completed the biggest challange of my life and I had done it for the most important person in my life.

As I walked towards John Philip and fell into his arms, he just kept saying over and over “I am so proud of you.  YOU JUST DID A MARATHON!”  I think he was as excited as I was about the whole thing!!  We met up with Brett who had also just finished and we all waited at the finish line to cheer on Whitney!  We had done it!  All 3 of us successfully completed the Disney World Marathon!!  Two months ago, I wouldn’t have even thought it possible for me to accomplish such a thing.  Two days before the race, I still didn’t think it was possible for me to accomplish such a thing!  But as is the case so often in life, and as John Philip demonstrates to all of us everyday, when you set your mind to something you CAN do ANYTHING.  As I walked to find John Philip, I reflected in my mind on my reasons for the marathon.  To my dad, grandfather, and baby Thomas I know you were watching and cheering from up above.  Breath by breath I did it for Kim.  My running angle carried me to the finish line.  And step by step, my legs kept moving for my hero.

Disney World Marathon Weekend consisted of every race possible.  It was a 3 day long weekend that consisted of a Diaper Dash for little ones, a Mickey Mile for kids, a Buzz and Woody’s Best Friends 5k, the Walt Disney World 1/2 Marathon, the Walt Disney World Marathon and for those who are crazy the “Goofy Challenge” which means you complete BOTH the 1/2 marathon on Saturday and the full marathon on Sunday.     I kept telling Chesney and John Philip that they were going to have to do the race next year.  It was the most amazing thing I have ever done.  It was the perfect finale to our fundraising efforts for John Philip’s chair.

Next year, I may be feeling a little “Goofy”.

Thanks again to each and every one of you for your donations, prayers, love and support.  It has been a busy 4 months of running many, many miles to accomplish our ultimate goal.  Thanks to each of you, we have done it!  We hope to order John Philip’s chair soon.  Look around while you are out and about this Spring/Summer….you may just see him training somewhere!

Much love to you all.  Stay tuned to the blog for updates on John Philip’s training progress and first race details!

Fireworks lit the sky when each corral started the race!

The first mile down!

Entering Magic Kindgom

Running towards the castle

Inside Magic Kingdom

Character photo stop

Mickey and Minnie on the golf course

Half Way!!!!!

My first character stop….I thought this was Yogi Bear 🙂

Captin’ Hook…I think!

Some character from Ants

Running down the street of Hollywood Studio…that is a painting in front of us, not actual buildings!

Around the boardwalk….we are almost there!

YAY!!!!

I did it!

Me and Brett

Me and Whitney

Another medal for our hero!

See you next year Disney!

1 Response to "26.2…..I never thought it was possible"

I was looking for 2011 Disney Marathon recaps and I happened upon your blog 🙂 Congratulations on such an incredible feat! 26.2 miles…amazing!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other subscribers